Skip to main navigation.
Outage Reporting: 1.800.472.2983 or 701.939.6671

Democratic Member Control: One more benefit of being a cooperative member

Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative is overseen by a board of directors which is elected by you — the members and owners of the electric cooperative. Each director represents the members of the cooperative on the board, and each director is a cooperative member.


The board of directors of Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative is comprised of seven members elected from the membership of the cooperative. This is one of the distinct foundations of the cooperative way of business — the governance comes from the membership.


2019 Director Elections
At the 2019 annual meeting, members will elect a director in District 1, District 2, and District 3.  The District 1 seat currently held by Kent Haugland, the District 2 seat currently held by Lane Titus, and the District 3 seat currently held by David Sigloh are up for election.  Each seat will be a three-year term.


Members interested in becoming a candidate for a director seat are required to circulate a nominating petition and secure 15 signatures from members within his/her district.


Petitions are available at the Cooperative’s headquarters in Columbus and must be filed with the Cooperative by the close of business Wednesday, May 8.


According to Cooperative bylaws, any member of Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative may circulate a petition to become a candidate for the board of directors.  A director must reside in the district in which he/she is being elected, and the directors shall be elected by the members at large.


Contact Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative at (701) 939-6671 with questions regarding the director election process.


Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative Bylaws

Section 4.2.—Qualifications
Every director or candidate for a directorship shall: (1) be a member of the Cooperative and receive electric service from the cooperative at a meter located within the district for the directorship being filled, and (2) be a bona fide resident of the area within the outside geographical boundaries of the district for the directorship being filled, even if the residence is not served by the cooperative. This qualification shall apply whether such directorship is being filled by election or appointment.  No representative of a member who is other than a natural person shall be qualified to be a director unless that person is also a member of the Cooperative individually and meets the criteria outlined above.

No member shall be eligible to become or remain a director who is not at least eighteen (18) years of age or who is any way employed by or financially interested in a competing enterprise.

Nothing in this section shall, or shall be construed to, affect in any manner whatsoever the validity of any action taken at any meeting of the Board of Directors, unless such action is taken with respect to a matter in which one or more of the directors have an undisclosed interest adverse to that of the Cooperative.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo