Burke-Divide Electric Memorial Scholarship

Founded in 1964 as a memorial to Henry T. Swenson, the Burke-Divide Electric Memorial Scholarship has become a memorial to other friends of the cooperative as well.

Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative will award its $500 Memorial Scholarship through a random drawing held at the conclusion of the cooperative's annual meeting Wednesday, June 12, 2024, at the Cooperative's Crosby Outpost.  The requirements to enter the scholarship drawing are listed below:

  1. The student or parent/legal guardian must be an active member of Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative at the time of the drawing.

  2. Both the student and parent/legal guardian must be present at the Annual Meeting when the drawing is held.

  3. The student must be enrolled in a full-time vocational/technical, undergraduate or graduate degree program in the 2024 Fall term.

  4. The student must submit a “Luck-of-the-Draw” Scholarship application form at the meeting.  The application form is available via the link below and may be completed prior to the meeting. The student must bring the printed application form to the meeting. Forms will also be available at the meeting.

 Click here to download the Luck-of-the-Draw Scholarship application.

Basin Electric Power Cooperative Scholarships

Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative and Basin Electric Power Cooperative team up to provide two (2) $500 scholarships to area students.

Scholarship applicants must be enrolled in or planning to enroll in a full-time undergraduate course of study at an accredited, two-year or four-year college, university, or vocational/technical school, and the applicant or applicant's parents or guardians must be members of Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative.

Scholarship recipients are selected based on academic record, leadership, school and community involvement, an appraisal from a counselor, advisor or instructor who knows the student well and an essay.

Scholarship applications are due March 15 each year.

2024 Scholarship Winners

Kyra Bakken

Kyra Bakken

$500 Basin Electric

Burke Central High School


Billi Fortier

Billi Fortier

$500 Basin Electric

Divide County High School